[Skip to Content]

Testimonials

Jacqui McGinnThis course [This Book Means Business: the Bootcamp] is absolutely the single most clarity-inducing thing I've ever done for my business! For the first time, I feel I can create clear plans for marketing, building my brand and growing the number of clients I can reach and help. Woohoo!

JACQUI MCGINN
Jacqui McGinn - Wellbeing and Resilience

Bec EvansI was so thrilled with what I achieved on Alison's 10-day proposal challenge, I just had to sign up for the bootcamp. And it absolutely delivered! My proposal sparked the interest of several agents, so I started working on sample chapters and talking to agents while on the bootcamp.... The group is amazing. I really felt I was part of a dynamic community of supportive professionals - they kept me inspired and helped me raise my game. If you're thinking about it - just do it - I promise you won't regret it.

BEC EVANS
Prolifiko

Cara HollandThe [This Book Means Business] Bootcamp builds perfectly on the foundation of the 10-day proposal challenge. It forced my brain to get organised and to really think about how to go from an idea, to writing, in a way that was more structured and more useful than if I'd been left to my own devices. Embedding the book creation process into my day to day business was a really positive mind shift.

CARA HOLLAND
Graphic Change

Nova Woodrow[The 10-day Business Book Proposal Challenge] is more than a challenge. Sure it DOES challenge you, in a really positive and motivating way, but it does more than that. It offers new connections, new friends, new conversations, new ideas and renewed vision. I cannot say enough about how valuable this experience is, not only because Alison gives you thorough and expert feedback on every aspect of your proposal but also because you will come out the other side of this journey exhausted, happy, satisfied and with a major achievement that you hadn't even dreamed of ten days before.

NOVA WOODROW
Positive Potential

Jo StroudWorking through the 10-day Book Proposal Challenge has been a superb process that I would highly recommend. Alison Jones structures the sessions to really make you think, challenging you to question all your early assumptions about target market, content, structure and even your book's title - much of which you believed to be already decided! You end up with a hugely detailed, professional, and well-thought-out book proposal, and a deep understanding of the business book market. Her warm approach also makes it genuinely enjoyable, keeping you motivated and excited throughout. Highly recommended.

JO STROUD
Fabulous Collections and Mantra Jewellery

Joanna PietersArmed with a book proposal and with interest from a potential publisher, I had one question: how do I get this thing written? Alison’s This Book Means Business bootcamp is a very sane, practical answer to that. It has already been hugely valuable and I know I’m going to continue to use it. 

Alison takes you step-by-step through the mental and practical processes between idea and getting your book written. A six-week spin through it will get you much, much further, but it has material to keep you going well beyond the main bootcamp period. It’s very practical and no-nonsense, but also recognises all the emotional demands of producing a book. The scope goes well beyond the short and easy-to-watch videos, from inner resistance to cover design to marketing text. It’s well worth it for anyone who’s serious about getting their book written and making a difference to their business. 

JOANNA PIETERS
The Creative Life Show

Kathryn BishopFollowing the This Book Means Business LIVE workshop, December 2016:

I had several 'Aha!' moments, which will turn into real actions... This was just I wanted - and definitely what I needed! I leave with more energy and am more likely to finish a better book as a result!

When I attend workshops like this, I assume that if I find one or two useful ideas, the day has been worthwhile – but yesterday I found 8 useful ideas, and have already implemented one of them and am about to start acting on the second. That shows what a useful day it was, and I am most grateful.

KATHRYN BISHOP
Associate Fellow of Saïd Business School, Civil Service Commissioner, trainer and speaker

Before I attended the workshop I had lots of ideas, but trouble in refining them. I found Alison's workshop to be very thought-provoking and enlightening. It was great to broaden out my thinking around a business approach whilst gaining a more grounded approach to my proposed target group/topic. I feel confident that I have a way forward that has tangible action steps within a wider business framework. 

This Book Means Business LIVE attendee
December 2016

David TaylorAlison is a fantastic interviewer – she gets to what she knows people want to hear/read through brilliant questions, never aggressive ones, demonstrating the thoroughness of her research. I have been interviewed many times and by many people – Alison is the best.

DAVID TAYLOR
Author of The Naked Leader Series and Visiting Professor of Leadership at Warwick and Ulster Business Schools

I cannot recommend doing the bootcamp with Alison enough.  I never would have dreamed to complete a book proposal, skeletal plan for the whole book and be in talks with publishers so quickly.  Alison is supportive, encouraging and good fun to work with.  Her expertise shines through at all times during the course.

KATE PEERS
Blogger and This Book Means Business Bootcamp participant

Linda AspeyIf you want to get clarity, focus, inspiration, support, challenge, encouragement, experience, knowledge and tangible results with your writing, contact Alison! As a book coach she's head and shoulders above the rest, maintaining the perfect balance between being a terrific coach, a wise mentor and a skilled consultant. I've personally benefited so much from working with her.

LINDA ASPEY
Coaching for Leaders Ltd

Suzanne DibbleAlison gave a talk to my Empress group on ‘the new rules of publishing’, with practical advice on using a book to grow their business. It was superb: clear, engaging, authoritative and full of great insights. Alison has a unique combination of top-level experience of the traditional publishing industry together with a passion for rewriting the rules and helping businesses use content effectively. The feedback from members was amazing, with many calling it ‘truly inspirational’. I will definitely be working with her again and recommend her as a speaker wholeheartedly.

SUZANNE DIBBLE
Empress Global Ltd

Real Parenting for Real KidsAlison unravelled the mysteries of publishing for me and guided me through some of the trickier aspects, from dealing with potential foreword writers to finding publicists. No question was too small or too silly for her to answer! Partner publishing with Alison has resulted in an extremely professional-looking book. I am so pleased with the cover and the look and feel of the whole book. Alison had lots of advice on typesetting and copy-editing and was able to put me in touch with a specialist book PR agent to promote it. It was a thoroughly enjoyable process from first word to celebratory glass of champagne at the launch!

MELISSA HOOD
The Parent Practice

Glenda ShawleyI've just finished my third coaching session with Alison and am absolutely delighted with the progress I've made so far. My thinking is clearer, I've got a proper plan with the book at the heart of my business and I'm taking the action to make things happen. Alison has a lovely, gentle but insightful and encouraging style. This really will be the year of my book.

GLENDA SHAWLEY
The Training Pack

EastLifeAll our concerns about the publishing process for EastLife were addressed with professional rigour and extensive knowledge. Alison led us through each step, offering clarity and making us aware of all our options and related costs during the early stages of our decision making. We found guidance and insight every time we were in touch with her, and her professional knowledge and range of publishing expertise meant that we had one-stop solutions to any issues that arose. Alison is rigorous and thorough in her editorial and production work, committed to deadlines, and has a personal touch that meant we felt at ease and in good hands throughout the whole process. I couldn't recommend her more highly.  

TESSA MCWATT
University of East London

Lisa Parkes[from The Year of the Book workshop, January 2016]

This afternoon’s workshop was thoroughly enjoyable and thought-provoking. I felt really inspired amongst a group of like-minded people. Alison has this natural ability to draw the right stuff out of you. I came away with lots of actions. It also made me re-think my approach to my book and how to make it a better fit for my business model. On a practical level, I want to make changes to the way I write and how I can use my time more effectively. I think it was a good mix of strategy and delivery. It made perfect sense and felt achievable – helping to reduce overwhelm and giving me more confidence to finish the book (or should that be start it!). Thank you very much!

LISA PARKES
The Smiley Coach

You've really made me think differently about how to align the actitivies that already take place in my business to my larger goals, which is revolutionary for me.

LUCY PARSONS
Life More Extraordinary

Misfit to MavenWriting a very personal book with a meaningful message is an important and large undertaking not to be taken lightly. Whilst the process can be rewarding, it can also be excruciating; there is a reason that people liken writing and publishing a book to birthing. Alison is a formidable book doula. I would not have been able to get this book out without her and more than that, she made the process fun. I look forward to birthing many more books in partnership with her. I cannot recommend working with Alison highly enough. She is professional and personable and more than that, she cares as much as you do about the message you have to share.

EBONIE ALLARD
The Entrepreneur Enabler

Weather StationsIt was a pleasure to work with Alison Jones on producing our Weather Stations anthology. Alison was professional, knowledgeable and incredibly helpful throughout, and it was reassuring to have such professionalism at the end of the phone when deadlines changed and technical requirements altered. We were working on a complex project managing 5 international partners and content in three languages, and Alison was accommodating, flexible and patient managing the different requirements and languages and changing deadlines of the project. The result is an e-book that all 5 partners are proud to show off as a testament to the project. We would certainly recommend Alison’s services to other organisations and professionals in the future.

SOPHIE WARDELL
Free Word

Taking the Expert Author Programme has made a huge difference to my ability to get my book off the ground. This work has been bubbling inside me for years but only with Alison's help has it become a reality. She has inspired, supported and challenged me alternately! I am really enjoying the process of writing and feeling much more confident in the result. I am profoundly grateful as this book has great personal meaning as well as being important to my business.

MH
The Expert Author programme participants, April 2015

Alison helped me to clarify the purpose and positioning of my proposed book. The positioning had been problem for a number of years so it's time and money well spent. She knows her subject and has a laser brain. So, if you want to get started - or even write your book - she's a real find and great value.

JP
The Expert Author programme participant, February 2015

Alison has a fantastic ability to bring focus, clarity and positivity to writing my first book. She took the inspired, yet broadly focused, potential content, and helped me hone it down into a single focus that got to the essence of what I have to say. Two years ago I started writing a book and left it, but this time I'm on track to publish. Alison has a huge amount of practical experience in publishing and brings a wealth of knowledge distilled into what I now realise I needed as an author and business owner.

SB-S
The Expert Author programme participant, February 2015

Charles WatkinsonThe combination of deep publishing knowledge and expert coaching that Alison offers makes her a uniquely valuable partner. She has already been a tremendous help to our publishing organization. Her individual coaching sessions have empowered staff and helped them identify and implement priorities. Meanwhile, her insightful consultancy has been especially useful in honing our digital strategy.

Charles Watkinson
Director, University of Michigan Press

Sanphy ThomasAlison recently ran a half-day content marketing workshop for the Books Marketing department at SAGE. Her coaching style worked incredibly well as it encouraged us to come up with our own ideas and solutions which really helped to embed the training. Alison’s applied approach meant that we left the session with real examples that we could continue working on immediately afterwards. 

Alison’s publishing experience combined with her knowledge of digital marketing and wider business practice enabled her to shape a workshop that was incredibly valuable to us. I’d have no hesitation in recommending Alison - she delivers well thought-out frameworks for anyone seeking practical solutions. 

SANPHY THOMAS
Head of Marketing, SAGE Publications

I joined TEA as I thought it would be a fabulous opportunity to gain some professional direction. I had been wanting to write 'my story' for a little while and joining TEA has given me the confidence and assurance that even I have a story worth reading. This has been a huge leap of faith yet I have enjoyed every minute of it...  The one to one sessions were the most valuable part of TEA for me, Alison is a natural coach, her questions were utterly challenging and the direction has really shaped my book so far.  

TS
The Expert Author Programme participant, November 2014

Yoga for Happy MumsI loved The Expert Author programme. It gave me the right amount of information to enable me to structure my book properly and to understand what is involved in publishing and promoting a new book. The daily emails were inspiring and kept me on track, and Alison was so supportive and encouraging throughout. I am so happy that my dream of publishing my first book is actually becoming a reality!

EM
The Expert Author programme participant, November 2014

Robin WaiteAlison has provided us with some superlative business coaching sessions. She has an incredibly direct way of getting to the nub of the one thing that we should be focussing on to drive our business forward. 

Alison clearly has a wealth of experience in business both from a theoretical and practical perspective. Her sessions are enjoyable and surprisingly unobtrusive; it could be easy to find gremlins when delving into a business' history and strategy but she only ever finds positive experiences to draw on. 

I can thoroughly recommend Alison as a business coach which no business can do without.

ROB WAITE
Hostpipe Online Strategy Agency

Alison’s style and coaching personality suits me perfectly.  Eighteen months down the self-employed road, I needed focus, direction and a little inspirational nudge to take my business forward.

We set clear goals and agreed some bite-sized chunks of activity and with renewed confidence and regular, thorough reviews during our sessions, I now plan, structure, assess and measure my own business strategy at a greater pace and with greater commitment.   I have gained clarity, perspective and belief in my role as a small business owner since our sessions began.

Alison’s coaching technique is relaxed yet persuasive and I felt completely at ease discussing those elements of my working life that needed the most fine-tuning. 

As a marketer who has worked with coaches previously, it was refreshing to gain tangible benefits from our sessions at the earliest opportunity.  Alison has a canny knack of steering the session towards the heart of the problem with sensitivity and aplomb and then driving me forward to some really impactful actions.

I now have a greater confidence in my own plans, a clearer vision of what they are, how I should achieve them and how I should continue to develop them.  Alison has given me some simple and effective tools to get me to where I want to be. 

LYNN HUNTER
Pro-Motion Marketing Support

Alison Jones is a very professional and skilled Business Coach. Working together certainly progressed my confidence and more importantly my business forward. My company has a solid foundation in which to build on in terms of business strategy, branding and networking. I would highly recommend Alison. A real gem to have in any business.

PAULA DAY
PD NUTRITION AND HOLISTIC SERVICES

Frances PinterAlison has been helping us at Manchester University Press  achieve  the full potential of our backlist. This is being done in a holistic way that takes into account the people in the business as well as our overall strategic goals. This approach inspires confidence that our  investment will bring the returns we are looking for and that we have had enough guidance so as not to stumble along the way. The staff have enjoyed her tremendously and we want her back for more!

FRANCES PINTER
CEO, Manchester University Press

The Confident MotherAlison is a great coach. Full of positive energy, she really helps to lift my own energy levels and enthusiasm. She is fantastic at helping you to see the bigger picture, and really focus on the specifics of HOW are you going to achieve something. I found this really helpful because it released creativity and generated fresh ideas for me that I might not have come up with otherwise. I would highly recommend Alison. She really knows content marketing and I feel I have learned so much in a very short space of time.

SHERRY BEVAN
Sherry Bevan Consulting

Alchemy for the MindAlison's unique blend of coaching with consultancy services is a must for any business looking to self-publish as a means to market their services, programmes or products. With her expertise and insight, alongside her lovely ability to combine challenge and accountability with unwavering support, she made the whole process of bringing my idea to its final destination as a book... a wonderful process. I recommend Alison without hesitation.

RHIAN SHERRINGTON
COACH (ALCHEMY FOR THE MIND)

Alison was an absolute pleasure to work with. Her methodology is organized and clear, and her knowledge on the subject of publishing was inspired.

I have been really pleased with the response from my readers since being published. I learned so much from our collaboration and look forward to working with Alison again soon.

JANE SARCHET
FOOD BLOGGER (PROJECT EGG)

TorjussenAlison is an inspiring coach who challenges my thinking, encourages me to think the unthinkable, motivates me to achieve more and works collaboratively to enhance what I do. She's made a huge difference to me and I would recommend her every time!

STEVE TORJUSSEN
TRAINER (101 TIPS and TECHNIQUES FOR AMAZING PRESENTATIONS)

I was impressed at how I was pushed to get more out of the sessions than I thought possible.

I was able to gain awareness about thoughts that may hold me back, take time to reassess these and see how I may be affected if I did not change my beliefs. 

J. B.
COACHING CLIENT

Alison's coaching has enabled me to evaluate and make changes in my work and life in general; there's a number of specific areas that I've been able to improve on and change that are of great benefit. It was a great opportunity for self-reflection and analysis. Productivity has increased in work, health and motivation have increased for life in general, so a good job all round!

T. B.
COACHING CLIENT

The impact of the coaching I received from Alison has been huge. She empowered me to change my life! I have completely reevaluated my life... My confidence has grown hugely. I now know to keep reviewing my goals and the directions I'm taking. 

K. H.
COACHING CLIENT

Alison showed a great deal of empathy, understanding and was excellent at keeping me on track and focused on the goal... She had great clarity and often asked challenging and powerful questions which enabled me to really think and see what it was that I really wanted to achieve.

T. O.
COACHING CLIENT

Get your FREE 5-step plan for getting started on the book that will change your life